From spring 2017, six African countries will slash roaming charges

From spring 2017, six African countries will slash roaming charges.
Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Guinea, Mali, Senegal newly member, Togo, joined the circle as the signatory of this protocol.
The Director General of the Post and Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (ARTP) Abdou Karim Sall signed with his counterpart from Togo, Abayeb Boyodi, the MoU on the “free roaming”. This protocol will enable Togo to join the five countries have signed this MoU.
He also announced that the ratifications of the treaty would be applied in the signatory countries on 31 March.
On 31 March, all Signatories of this protocol will receive phone calls without paying the fee and the cost of the reception. Those who are roaming in the signatories’ countries will now receive and make calls as if they were in their own country. All signatories will apply the prices contained in this Protocol.
For now, this protocol applies only to the voice and it might expand to data roaming later as it is a more complicated issue.
The idea of ‘free roaming’ is part of a wider plan to create a more united African continent as promoted by the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS). The action in West Africa follows the ‘One Network Area’ scheme involving a few East African nations such as Kenya, Rwanda and South Sudan, which was first implemented in October 2014.

To see a sample of telecom tariffs in Africa, please contact Andrea Riddling on +44 (0)20 3286 9570 ( or ask for a sample here.